Call me old-fashioned, but…

It’s the 21st century, so why am I still writing my thoughts on paper and wasting trees? In a sense, privacy is exciting. It’s like leaving a love note within the pages of a library book for someone else to find. It’s there for people to grab, but you have to work for it to find it…or accidentally come upon it. No one else can flip through your journal unless you give them permission to.

When you write in a journal, you’re writing to tell yourself, and to remind yourself how you once felt about a specific issue, emotion, moment. It is so different than upfront telling your friends about the guy you ran into at the coffee shop or the professor who wouldn’t cut you some slack. In a sense, a journal naturally encourages your subconscious to say what is on your mind without it talking back to you. It does not pass judgment and it does not offer you a different perspective. It is just there to hear you out.

I gotta say, it’s old-fashioned of me. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a social media freak. I love updating my Facebook status and tweeting my never-ending stream of consciousness, but every post is a risk to pass judgment.

People post photos of their Friday nights to show the world how much fun they’ve had, how many friends they’ve made, how great they looked. I mean, isn’t that what the Instagram filters are for essentially? Hey, I do the same thing. It’s addicting.

This is the beginning of my risk. Let’s keep it classy, ladies and gentleman.

 

–“The best things in life are truly unseen, which is why we close our eyes when we cry, kiss and dream…”

Leave a comment